IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2022

Google News Logo Follow Google News Follow Now
Join WhatsApp group Join Now
Join Telegram group Join Now

The Indian Premier League, or IPL, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. It was established in 2008 and has since become one of the most popular cricket leagues in the world. The IPL is known for its high-energy matches, star-studded teams, and passionate fans. In this article, we will be taking a closer look at the IPL Winners List and the teams that have won the tournament over the years.

List of IPL Winners The IPL has been won by 10 different teams since its inception. These teams are Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Kings XI Punjab (now known as Punjab Kings), Gujarat Titans & Lucknow Super GiantsMumbai Indians have won the tournament the most number of times, with five wins, followed by Chennai Super Kings with three wins. Here is a list of all the IPL winners over the years:

  • 2008 – Rajasthan Royals
  • 2009 – Deccan Chargers
  • 2010 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2011 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2012 – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2013 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2015 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2016 – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2017 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2018 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2019 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2020 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2021 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2022 – Gujarat Titans

All-Time IPL Winners List Including Runnerups

YearWinnerRunner UpVenueNumber of teamsPlayer of the Match
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals Ahmedabad10
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubai8Faf du Plessis
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubai8Trent Boult
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabad8Jasprit Bumrah
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai8Shane Watson
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad8Krunal Pandya
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore8Ben Cutting
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata8Rohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBangalore8Manish Pandey
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata9Kieron Pollard
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennai9Manvinder Bisla
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai10Murali Vijay
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbai8Suresh Raina
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg8Anil Kumble
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbai8Yusuf Pathan

Mumbai Indians

The Most Successful IPL Team Mumbai Indians have won the IPL a record five times, making them the most successful team in the tournament’s history. The team is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, and is coached by Mahela Jayawardene, a former Sri Lankan cricketer. Mumbai Indians have a star-studded lineup that includes players like Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya. The team has a reputation for being one of the most well-balanced teams in the league, with a strong batting and bowling lineup.

Chennai Super Kings

The Consistent Performers Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL three times and have also been runners-up four times, making them one of the most consistent teams in the league. The team is owned by India Cements and is coached by Stephen Fleming, a former New Zealand cricketer. Chennai Super Kings have a strong fan base, and their captain, MS Dhoni, is one of the most popular cricketers in the world. The team is known for its consistent performances, with a batting lineup that includes Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, and Ambati Rayudu.

Most IPL Winner

IPL Winner TeamTimesYear
Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings4 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009
Gujarat Titans1 time2022


The IPL is a highly competitive tournament that attracts some of the best cricketers from around the world. Over the years, we have seen some amazing performances by the different IPL teams. Mumbai Indians have been the most successful team in the tournament’s history, winning it a record five times. Chennai Super Kings have been consistent performers, winning the tournament three times and being runners-up four times. As the tournament continues to grow in popularity, we can expect to see more exciting matches and memorable performances by the different IPL teams.

Roshan Kewat
Google News Logo Follow Google News Follow Now
Join WhatsApp group Join Now
Join Telegram group Join Now

Leave a Reply

Google News Logo Follow Google News Follow Now
Join WhatsApp group Join Now
Join Telegram group Join Now